Home > Biennale di Venezia, Cinema News > Alice Rohrwacher, president of the international jury for the Venice Award for a Debut Film

Alice Rohrwacher, president of the international jury for the Venice Award for a Debut Film

71st Venice Film Festival from August to 27 to Sept. 6, 2014
06 | 16 | 2014
The Jury will award the Lion of the Future
Italian director Alice Rohrwacher has been appointed the President of the International Jury for the“Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film at the 71st Venice International Film Festival.
Alice Rohrwacher won the Grand Prix at the last Cannes Film Festival with Le Meraviglie (The Wonders). In 2011 her first feature film, Corpo Celeste, premiered at the Cannes Directors’ Fortnight and was selected at Sundance, New York, London, Rio and Tokyo Film Festivals. Corpo Celeste won the Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award, the Nastro d’Argento Award and the Ciak d’Oro Award for best first work, as well as the Suso Cecchi D’Amico Award for best screenplay.
The 71st Venice International Film Festival will be held from 27 August to 6 September 2014 at the Lido of Venice, directed by Alberto Barbera and organized by the Biennale di Venezia, chaired by Paolo Baratta.
The International Jury of the “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film is composed of 7 personalities in the cinema and culture of different countries, including a producer. The Jury will select one film from among all the first feature films in the various competitive sections of the Festival (Official Selection and Independent and Parallel Sections), awarding it the Lion of the Future – “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film and a prize of 100,000 USD, provided by Filmauro di Aurelio e Luigi De Laurentiis which will be divided equally between the director and the producer. No joint winners are allowed.
In recent years the Venice Award for a Debut Film was conferred to: Le grand voyage by Ismaël Ferroukhi (2004), 13 – Tzameti by Gela Babluani (2005),Khadak by Peter Brosens and Jessica Woodworth (2006), La zona by Rodrigo Plá (2007), Pranzo di ferragosto (Mid August Lunch) by Gianni Di Gregorio (2008), Engkwentro (Clash) by Pepe Diokno (2009), Cogunluk (Majority) by Seren Yüce (2010), Là-Bas (Là-Bas: A Criminal Education) by Guido Lombardi (2011), Küf (Mold) by Ali Aydin (2012), White Shadow by Noaz Deshe (2013).
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: